Its not selfish to….

Its not selfish to say “no” to others so you can say “yes” to yourself.

End of the day you have to live with yourself, even if no one else. So when you look over your life – as it is right now – are you content?

If not, what needs to change?

Do you want more time?
Then take stock of where your time is spent & re-evaluate how you spend it.

Example – you are too busy to have time for your family. Busy with what? Work/social commitments after office hours? Before you say yes to the next event, ask yourself..six months from now will it matter?

Actually thats a good question to ask in ANY circumstance. I ask myself that when I get upset / angry / depressed / stressed….. six months from now will I even care? If the answer is “no” then my energy is better spent on something else.

I haven’t blogged much this year but after much procastination I finally figured out why. Its because I am spending more time on things that need my time now. So the allocation of time & energy (or lack thereof) to this particular activity has taken a back seat. But this is not the only factor for lack of posts.

I had to reevaluate how much I want to share of my private life & thoughts … and how best to get across the reason of why I started this blog in the first place. The last 3/4 months have been draining in my personal life, betrayal & loss of relationships have left me empty.

Corporateskirts is about women & our lives as we juggle through the day with a million balls up in the air. My inspiration comes from my life & those in my surrounding. My downfall is the same..yet I find myself unwilling to air or propagate negativity. Finding the balance is easier when I have time & space to objectively or passionately address the issue of the day. And lately I haven’t had the energy to do much of that.

So here’s to a new year… and more posts (however far in between) of things that keep me optimistic & hopeful… of talking more on self-care & self-love & being your own cheerleading band for your life.

In that spirit … I invite you to share your experience of times & trials which you endured & triumphed over or maybe tackling or going through now.

May we take off our masks & be more real with the issues we uncover and find ways to deal with in this Year of the Monkey.

image

 

Posted on February 13, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Your post is quite timely for me; I also have needed to put energy into other things in my life. A big move to a new home and new life some 1400 miles away(among other huge changes) has caused my own blogging to take a significant back seat ( after writing 1 or 2 posts per week) to the point where I have nearly forgotten how to navigate through Word Press! I am glad to see you back as you are one of my favorite writers here. I appreciate your insights-especially on women’s lives.

    Like

    • Awww… thank you for stopping and commenting. I really appreciate it🙂 Sometimes blogging feels a bit like a soliloquy… my words floating out there in the great void of the internet of all things and I wonder if they mean anything to anyone… lol.

      Last year I had targeted to post twice a week and I did manage to keep that up for most of the year but this time around, I really feel like my energies for now, have to be devoted to something else.

      I wish you all the best with your move. It’s never easy to have to start over again but then again, life’s a ride with ups and down, might as well enjoy it both ways😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hear, hear! I’m in the midst of evaluating how to get where I want to go, and prioritizing my time and my life. I feel bad that I don’t respond to blogs as I did when I was first blogging, but I’m also in quite a different place in my life – trying to figure out employment, and de-stress, and make sure I’m paying attention to what’s important for me.
    Thank you so much for your thoughts and attention to remaining optimistic and moving forward! Cheers chica!🙂

    Like

    • Hermionejh!!!! So good to hear from you again. I have been actively cutting out negativity from my life. The hardest has been to cut off family ties that keep dragging me down under but once I did & allowed myself to mourn the loss of it….staying positive just gets easier🙂 do keep writing though, your courage inspires me🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yes, I so understand. I think it’s tough to do, especially with family or once close friends. Writing is a way to let go a bit each time. It’s grief. It cycles and sucks, and then I get more released, and I’m able to laugh longer and appreciate what I have, and the good in my life – including YOU, my dear!🙂 xo

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do And Adieu!

Learning To Live And Love In Japan.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Live simply, travel lightly, love passionately & don't forget to breathe

Tales From The Road ~ Told By A Woman, Traveling The World Solo. (most of the time)

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

James Radcliffe

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Great Books of the Western World

The unexamined life is not worth living.

