Life lessons my dog taught me

There’s quite a few lessons that my dog taught me – my 13-year-old germanshepherd named Babe. She was originally named Lady-D because she’s such a proper lady but over the years she’s turned more into a ‘Babe’, the ultra loving, sexy, confident superwoman who can do anything and everything.

Lessons I learned in being a better mother:

1. Always be patient and loving AND it’s always possible to be patient and loving under ANY circumstances: even when your ear has been accidentally snipped with scissors in the hand of a 3-year-old. The human mother would have snapped and perhaps even swatted it off but the fur mother was more concerned about the fear that the 3-year-old experienced at the sight of blood.

2. Make clear in no uncertain terms that certain things are non-negotiable: If something is not good, it is non-negotiable. I was lenient, while my GSD was far more strict on the things that my son simply could not get into.

3. Motherhood = 24/7 watch-dog session: I fell asleep, I slipped in my duties. Babe was always there, always watching, always ready to drop everything to attend to her baby first.

4. Mom’s RULE: establish the Alpha status, rule with a kind but firm hand, always look out for those you are in charge of, end of the day – mom knows best.

5. Compassion and empathy will get you further than anything else.

6. Loyalty starts at home with your most loved ones. When you place them above everything else, everything else falls into its rightful place.

7. Do not trust anyone with the child (barring the skin mother & grandmother). Doesn’t matter how well you think you know someone, if they are with your kid, you better have eyes in the back of your head watching.

8. Take short naps throughout the day. It helps you to keep up with a toddler. Restores your energy and certainly helps in keeping your patience during tantrums.

9. The little things in life are really the most important things in life. Every action of love and expression of love is important, a hug, a scratch behind the ears, lots of licks and Babe allowed him to use her like a sofa, a bed, a cushion, a teddy bear, anything he needed, she was that to him.

10. If someone hurts you and apologizes, accept the apology, forgive them. Even your most loved ones will hurt you at some point in time, accept that they have made a mistake, forgive completely and move past that episode.

 

Lessons I learnt that helped with my career:

1. Be friendly. A little friendliness never hurts, it shows people that you are approachable and you are far more likely to have an easier time finding allies in the corporate world.

2. Be loyal. Loyalty is not over-rated, even in the corporate world where lay-offs can happen anytime.  There may not be monetary perks to loyalty but this is a highly sought after quality. What am I talking about? Don’t bad mouth your company, your clients, your company’s product.

3. Don’t bite if a growl will do the job. Translated into human context – don’t over-react. However, if you are not pleased, do not fear showing your displeasure.

4. Do show when you are pleased. Accept praise, lavish praise.

5. It’s more fun to play in teams. Share the ball – share the reward of a job well done and give due credit to your team members.

6. But ALWAYS keep your eye on the ball. If you have a career goal/ambition, don’t let anything distract you from it.

7. Accept the things you cannot change but do not let that take away your ability to dance in the rain.

8. When things are not going your way, take a break, then come right back to it. Keep at it until what you want is accomplished.

9. Don’t hold grudges. If someone yells at you, maybe they are just having a bad day. Give them some space and then go back to be friends again.

10. Know your people. Do not be fooled by what’s on the outside. It’s the little things, the smallest gestures that show you what a human being is like.

 

Well that’s it from the top of my head right now.

 

Babe is currently recovering from a tumor removal surgery. I brought her home and she’s stationed next to my bed so I can keep an eye on her 24/7. It’s been little over 24 hours and while the post-op bleeding has stopped, she is still not interested in eating much. For dog lovers out there, please send her some positive thoughts. My baby girl needs it and we (me & my son) REALLY need her to make a full recovery.

At the Vet’s last week. Shayan my 9 year old skin kid, Babe my 13 year old fur kid and me.

Posted on June 15, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Wonderful thoughts. I wish Babe a full recovery. She is a beautiful dog!

    Like

  2. I remember Babe so well. I did not know that she is still with you…………….I sincerely hope she is for a long time to come.

    I wish you all the very best. Not all angels have wings……………….the very best of God’s angels have four legs. And Babe is one of the best.

    Babe has been through so much with you, I think she has been a beacon of love and hope in your life. Be thankful she’s been there for you through so much.

    Fred Linn

    Like

    • I actually had to give Babe back to the people that I originally got her from as a puppy. They are very good people who love their GSD’s and I know that she’s been very well taken care of since I have visited her at least once every 3-4 months over the past 3 years. But this is a major surgery and she needs to be indoors and 24/7 care and who better to provide it then me, right? When I look in her eyes, I see so much love and loyalty that my efforts are nothing compared to her life-long devotion to me and my son. I am so thankful that I have her in my life. She’s been there for me through so much like you said, I had cried so many tears on her shoulders and she’s always been such a sweet loving soul. She truly is God’s manifestation of His best creation 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by Fred. Send her some positive thoughts so that she makes a quick and full recovery!

      Like

  3. I hope Baby will get well really soon. Actually if possible I would even like to play with her for a while. She looks really curious & soft.

    Like

  4. And yes those are really good lessons…
    Not only for moms but for all.

    Like

  5. ” 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by Fred. Send her some positive thoughts so that she makes a quick and full recovery!”

    You’ve had them all along already. All three of you.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Babe…. my unsung hero | Corporate Skirts

Leave a Reply

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do & Adieu

Learning To Live And Love In Japan

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

