Mind monkeys

Yesterday my mind has been making a lot of monkey jumps… not the screeching monkey jumps… just quietly, serenely, swinging from one branch to another, reminding me of the ever-expanding to-do list of things to tackle while time is running out. The only problem with monkey jumps is that there’s so many trees and branches that it gets confusing to keep it all straight. So I did what any sane, logical person would do. I made a list.

Yup! Got a pen and paper and then started to take note of all the branches and the trees and if I thought that I had A monkey swinging on several trees, turns out I actually have a couple of monkeys on several trees. LOL! After I wrote down my to-do list, I numbered them according to importance, time constraint regarding deadlines and then simply resolved to start tackling them in the order of importance. Some will be completed later in the week but since I have them solidly on my radar, I know I won’t miss either the deadlines or the actions needed so I no longer need those monkeys in my mind tree.

monkeys on my mind tree

Now wasn’t that picture of calm, quiet, serenely jumping monkeys much better than screeching monkeys? According to popular advice, when this happens… when the mind monkeys start to create chaos, this is what I am supposed to engage in…

calmness in the middle of the jungle of the mind

And lets not forget that I have in fact recently completed a 2 day Meditation course which I did enjoy immensely. Mostly because it showed us the science behind meditation and what is it that we are hoping to achieve with Meditation. Luckily in class it also showed us several ways to achieve that calmness, the Alpha wave-length of the brain where we are most creative, problem-solving and clear thinking. I particularly liked the ones that goes along the lines of “meditation in motion”. While meditation in motion is taught in many different ways, the simplest I would say is to do the thing that you love with all your attention, whether that is running, biking, sketching, singing or as in my case, a good solid dose of ‘yoga’.

Personally I don’t think that mind monkeys are bad, quite to the contrary, I find them very interesting. If you can let go of your attachment to any particular thought, refrain yourself from feeling anxious over pending tasks, you might surprise yourself if you take note of all the thoughts that fleet through your head on any given day. Yesterday I was reminded of long forgotten dreams, of things that I still want to do with my life, places that I had wanted to travel to, tribes that I wanted to live with and it reminded me of how far I have already come, of all the things that I have already achieved. That my life is always in balance, even in the moments when I had thought otherwise.

Dhochula, Bhutan, 2009

 

Posted on April 6, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do & Adieu

I Do & Adieu

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

