“When you have more than others, it is your moral responsibility to help those less fortunate than you”

Musings of a quiet morning.

Yesterday, something that my mentor said struck a chord and remained resonating long after the moment was gone “when you have more than others, it is your moral responsibility to help those less fortunate than you”. How often in how many other ways have we heard this? Countless times I am sure. It probably struck a chord for the discussion that was taking place at the time.

He asked why I was making decisions that no one else was comfortable enough to make. Why I would not wait for others to make those decisions? I was trying to explain that I do things because I can. It is not my job, it is not a compulsion that makes me stand up and make decisions, to stop passing the ball. It is because it is…..that is who I am. I am comfortable making decisions. I am also comfortable with saying that I made a mistake and will subsequently have to reverse the course of action I had set upon.

I am certainly not perfect and I certainly do not make the right choices all the time. But I believe that it is greater foolishness to first try to hide a mistake and secondly to delay in correcting that mistake. Show me a person who has never made a mistake and I will show you how that person has never really made a decision or embarked in a course of action with destination unknown. If you are waiting for all conditions to be perfect, for all probabilities to be calculated, for all possible variables to be known, you will be waiting forever and forever delay taking any action.

That is a sure-fire way to remain exactly where you are. If you want more, to move forward, to better yourself, to know more, to achieve more, then Action is what you need to take. Make your decisions based on the information that is available to you now. Situations will change. Unforeseen variables will arise. Learn to be fluid, flexible, imagine yourself as supple as a young bamboo, as unstoppable as flowing water and you will become exactly that … unstoppable with invincible spirit.

The tape that plays in your head is the one that dictates how you live your life. Listen to what you are telling yourself, be mindful, be present and take that journey of self-discovery. Don’t watch so much tv, serials, movies…. do watch more of life. Watch people and their different personalities. Watch how the air changes through the day. Wake up early in the morning and watch nature unfold for the day ahead.

Today I caught myself thinking that I do not really have a goal in my life right now. Then I had to laugh. The goal I was thinking of is in terms of what others describe as goals – completion of studies, to make more money, to own a house/apartment/car…. you get the picture? Except that none of that holds any value for me now. I have been there, done that, gotten it all… so in the traditional sense I do not have a goal.

However, frankly, I do have a goal. Not so much like a destination to reach though. There’s no end to this road. My goal or path is my journey to discover myself. To enjoy the process of getting to know all of my capabilities, the different facets of my own personality, to keep pushing the boundaries of my mind, to see how much more I can extend. The rewards are not monetary, even though money helps and I do love to make money because I love to be comfortable. The rewards in this case is greater than all of that, it is my gift to myself of spending my time on earth doing the things that I enjoy doing, enriching other’s life as I enrich mine.

Funnily there are also no more what if’s in my life. You know those nagging doubts that linger at the corners of your mind? what if I had taken the other job? been with the other person? bought the other stuff? tried harder in my job/marriage/studies etc. would my life have been better now? Did I somehow make the wrong decision or choice? Some years ago, I resolved to stop regretting the things that I have done and rather regret the things that I have not yet gotten around to doing. I kept asking myself, if I die today, what would I regret not having done yet? 

All these resulted me in taking more risks, being open to more opportunities, trying a greater variety of new things. I travelled more, ate more, got to know more people, experience new culture, place, learn new things, take on a new career in a new industry. It also meant that somewhere along the way, I resolved those lingering what if’s. If something that I want is not working out right now, then it is because it is not time for it to be in my life yet. I will get what I want because when I really want something, the whole universe attempts to match my effort in attaining just that. But sometimes, we are not ready for what we want or it’s not the right thing yet (or could be ever) so we do not get it. Maybe because unconsciously we know it’s not what we really need, we don’t really put so much effort into getting it in our lives. Sometimes I get things I didn’t know that I needed and didn’t even think to want and then when I have it, I am in that space, in that moment, when the universe clicks and everything falls into place.

It lies in those moments when I can be silly – like when I did the silly Bengali movie dance move in our office day out. In giving myself permission to be silly, I gave others the courage to let their hair down, to laugh through the day and enjoy each other’s company, to get to know the child inside us who rejoices at innocent pleasure. It lies in the moment, when in an African valley, I sat by a mountain river early in the morning and gave myself permission to cry over the beauty of my surroundings. It lies in the moments when I feel that my mind has stopped moving, searching, seeking, that it is content in being exactly where I am at that precise moment. It lies in the prayers that I say throughout the day, in being thankful, in asking for courage to change what I can, the patience to accept that which I cannot change, the resilience to continue my journey. It lies in seeing the beauty that can be found anywhere, anytime, if you are alive and present in the moment.

Glenmore National Forest, Scotland

Posted on March 2, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on sentmaki and commented:
    yes definitely true it is our moral obligation to do things like that and in order to do that we should practice what amoral value come up with and what is our destiny to live with such pleasure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do & Adieu

Learning To Live And Love In Japan

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

