The Versatile Blogger Award

Terry has nominated me for this award. What is versatile? Variation, able to do many things in various areas.

versatile-blogger-award-2

This is quite an honor to me to think that someone thinks I am versatile. I have been trying to blog on different subjects and I have stopped fighting the urge to bring in and share personal views and opinions here but still I feel like sometimes it is more of a personal advice, lesson learnt or challenge that I am sharing in my blog and much less of things that would garner me such a great honor. Thank you Terry.

http://terry1954.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/the-versatile-blogger-award-2

These are the rules for the Versatile Blogger Award:

  • Display the Award Certificate on your website
  • Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award
  • Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers
  • Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post
  • Post 7 interesting things about yourself

 

Nominations are:

 

Tara: Come Alive

http://lifecoachtaraschiller.wordpress.com/my-one-law/

I love that she’s gone on a journey to find herself and has come out the other side with something so amazing.

 

Jerri: Life on Earth

http://seekingsearchingmeaning.wordpress.com

I love that she’s facing life head on, with a sense of loss, of happiness and an infinite amount of humor.

 

Rebecca’s photography:

http://rebeccalatsonphotography.me

I love her eye for detail and her choice of subjects. I love how the colors pop out or recede into the background. Her photos are just amazing.

 

Talin

http://talinorfali.wordpress.com/

I discovered her blog after she left a comment in mine. Amazing woman who is living it up and blogging about how to do just that.

 

Haile

http://beyondbabymamas.com/

I don’t know how she does it, I couldn’t have but she does it with grace, humor and a lot of grit.

 

Thoughts of a Lunatic 🙂

http://thoughtsofalunatic.com/2013/01/07/the-things-i-would-tell-you-part-1/

A lot of painful honesty here. Takes a lot of gut to be able to bare it all. My hats off to this blogger.

 

3 daily delights

http://threedailydelights.wordpress.com/

I love my daily dose of optimism.

 

Dan Pearce: Single Dad Laughing

http://www.danoah.com

I love how he’s evolving, being truer to himself and doing it all with a lot of grace, humor and pure courage.

(I will be adding more bloggers, just need a little bit more time).

 

7 Interesting things about myself that I did experienced recently:

I love my girls lunch at work. One day I caught us complaining about our days and noticed how that negativity was really getting us down. So we took a break and instead played a new game that I have come up with. Stop. Breathe. Go around the table and for each person pick one characteristic/trait/luck etc etc that you wish you had too. Everyone gets a compliment and are usually very pleasantly surprised. The whole mood changes and its just positivity all around.

My usual way of dealing with depression is to either let go and become a sloth or to just go out and work like a maniac. The most recent episode was harder to deal with but I think I am emerging out of it with a better understanding of myself and a greater respect for my own needs to set firmer boundaries around my relationships. 

I notice people and their double agendas/faces/games/standards a whole lot more now than I did before. Some of the games are just plain pathetic and some of the farce is just too sad. If more people could be really honest to themselves, they could cut down a lot on the energy they spend on their lies.

People only really understand as much as they have themselves experienced.  Some people have a gift for empathy and understanding, while some are just morons who claim to understand but then shows you how they really don’t get it by the way they behave. This realization actually makes me more honest in that I am more likely to say now that “I’m sorry but I have no context from my own life through which I would understand what you are going through. But I think I get how you are feeling about this (whatever ‘this’ is). And regardless of whether I get it or not, I will be there for you (or I can’t really be bothered to deal with this – depending on the person)”.  Is that rude?

I used to be the kind of person who wants to do more. Now with most things – I want to do less of it. I want to spend less of my energy on the things I don’t enjoy/like/need to do and I conciously try to spend my energy on more of the things that I DO enjoy/need/want to do. Where my focus goes, my energy flows and the money follows 😉 I am still a recovering type-A personality, I just focus it more on the things that pleases me. Simple example – I pay most of my bills online (cuts down on standing in line at the bank) and I digitalize most of my paperwork (easy search function saves me hours of going through files).

 

Realizations that keep hitting me on a very frequent basis these days:

My life is my own, no else is going to walk in my shoes, therefore no one else should be dictating how I live it.

Be kind whenever possible, it is always possible but don’t forget to be kind to yourself first.

I deserve my own love and acceptance, I am never going to be perfect and that’s perfectly ok (This is actually still a work in progress).

I cannot live with regrets and I sure don’t want to die with regrets. It is always the things that we haven’t done that we will regret far more than the things we did do. I need to keep encouraging myself to do things that I want to do, specially those that scare the crap out of me.

 

Well I think that’s enough honesty for one day 🙂

Posted on January 15, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. congratulations my friend!!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on the award… I like the idea of changing the negativity in your work place..You’ve been doing a lot of introspection…good to do once in awhile….Diane

    Like

    • haha.. just as you said, once in a while is good but I seem to be doing that quite a bit these days. I have to admit though that I am liking what I am finding so far 🙂 And that office trick, its fantastic. Everyone loves it and when I was depressed, they played it for me. Everyone gave me one reason/one thing that they wish they could have from my life. It was such a humbling experience.

      Like

  3. Congrats! I look forward to reading all these other wonderful blogs as well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do & Adieu

I Do & Adieu

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

