Attititude of Gratitude is HARD

I know I said that from now on I will post as frequently as possible, maybe even every day. I know I also said that every post will contain something for which I am grateful.

That is HARD. Really hard. While there are certain things for which I am readily grateful, any time of day or night, under any circumstances. Cultivating an attitude of gratitude to live with constantly is proving to be my most difficult endeavor yet. So I did, what I almost always do:

I honestly admitted to myself and others that I am finding it difficult to develop an attitude of gratitude and hold on to that everyday. 

I went online in search of quotes and methods to inspire me to stick to my guns and achieve my goal.

My friend’s stepped up, my sister stepped up, my colleagues stepped up…. to help me. They don’t have to; they are not required to; I did not expect this. I did not know that I need help and I am not very good with asking for help with personal things. Yet I must have known that I need help, otherwise I wouldn’t have admitted my dilemma in the first place. The fact that they recognized my need and then stepped up to help, THAT is what I am grateful for today.

And below is some wonderful sites that I found on how to develop & hold on to an “attitude of gratitude”

http://www.dumblittleman.com/2010/07/how-to-adopt-attitude-of-gratitude.html

http://www.happylifeu.com/Attitude-of-Gratitude.html

http://www.naturalnews.com/028399_gratitude_self_healing.html

http://www.zen-mama.com/2011/09/an-attitude-of-gratitude-19-inspirational-quotes/

Very short but very inspiring reading. If you are struggling as I am now. I recommend that you go take a look at these writings.

Today, these are the quotes that I am going to keep in front of me as a constant reminder that I am going to live with an attitude of gratitude.

Both abundance and lack exist simultaneously in our lives, as parallel realities. It is always our conscious choice which secret garden we will tend… when we choose not to focus on what is missing from our lives but are grateful for the abundance that’s present — love, health, family, friends, work, the joys of nature and personal pursuits that bring us pleasure — the wasteland of illusion falls away and we experience Heaven on earth.”
~ Sarah Ban Breathbach

“Learn to get in touch with silence within yourself, and know that everything in this life has purpose. There are no mistakes, no coincidences, all events are blessings given to us to learn from.”

~
Elizabeth Kubler-Ross

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”
~Albert Einstein

 

What are you grateful for today?

Posted on January 7, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Cultivating an attitude of gratitude is just that: cultivation. We tend to it like a garden, one weed at a time. There is no such thing as magnitude when it comes to expressing gratitude: expressing gratitude for the breath we draw is as meaningful as for the lottery winnings we may crave. No magnitude, just gratitude. You go, girl! xoxoM

    Like

  2. Good and very honest thoughts…There are so many things that we take for granted that they go into the recesses of our minds.

    Today I am grateful we got to see our grandson before he leaves for 5 months to go to Australia…I am grateful that he wanted to see us and that now we live (after moving in Oct) close enough that this was possible….Diane

    Like

    • That is indeed something to be grateful for… kids are cute 🙂

      Like

      • Hi….I should have mentioned that he is 21 and off to see another part of the world…kind of a working adventure…so I will be doing a lot of prayer for his safety and well-being during his trip…Diane

        Like

        • LOL. I was thinking along the lines of a 6 year old 🙂 With you praying for him.. I am sure he’ll be safe.

          I think its so loving that you are so close to your grandkids Diane! That is a blessing right there 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do & Adieu

Learning To Live And Love In Japan

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Great Books of the Western World

The unexamined life is not worth living.

