The power of words and intentions

Words are also actions, and actions are a kind of words.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I had entered into the adult world of responsibility quite young and from early on I nurtured a dream of having my own place to call home – warm, cozy and safe. I embarked on that dream by renting an apartment from my grandparents. I wanted to taste living independently without moving too far away from home. 14 years later I bought my own apartment.

I used to be a book-worm and I would lose myself for days in the pages of the books. I would imagine all the places that were detailed out, the gorgeous landscapes in far-away countries that I dreamt of visiting some day. I spend a lot of my earnings on my love for traveling. While a lot of people term that as a waste, I think of it more as an investment in myself. Education doesn’t just happen on pen & paper, experiences aren’t only gained by attending courses & trainings that award you with certificates.

Over the years, I have learnt that nothing is free, there’s a price to every choice. In the depths of despair, it is hope that keeps you alive and kicking to fight another day. And it is your words that paint the picture of your life. Luck has very little to do with the things that will happen in your life. More often than not, you can get what you want if you work hard and smart to achieve it. Sometimes my dreams took a lot longer to manifest but as long as I didn’t lose my faith in those dreams, they did manifest. More often than not, those were the times that I didn’t use the right words to clarify my intentions.

Sometimes life gives you choices, cross-roads of sorts and you have to stop and ask which one you would like to take. If you know where you want to go, then you make the best possible choice under those circumstances. You might not be right, but then again, tomorrow is a new day and you can choose to change your path all over again.  I don’t call that being ‘fickle’, I call that smart decision-making. If a choice doesn’t work for you the way you hoped, it is your life and your decision, to make a new choice.

When I pay attention to my words, I see several affirmation that I make on a regular basis:

I love my son and I want what would be best for him. Therefore it is important for me to put aside my feelings and ego to give him what would be the best for him.

It is important for me to be there for my friends, to support them through trials and celebrate their life with them. Good friends are the chocolate chip in my cookie of life.

It is important for me to be loyal and supportive to my boss & my work because the quality of my work and dedication will affect both his work and my career. There’s a caveat here: these feelings have to be mutual, otherwise it becomes a dysfunctional relationship.

It is important for me to have good work life balance so I can take care of myself, physically and spiritually. I need to look good, to feel good and that’s not going to happen if I am stressed out, not sleeping enough or don’t get to have my necessary dose of solitude.

It is important for me to have a tidy surrounding, whether at work or at home, because it makes me feel that I have things under control.

It is important for me to travel because God created a beautiful earth that He intended us to enjoy. There are still lots of places left to see, people to meet, food to taste, cultures to experience. I was not born to live & die in one tiny corner of this earth.

Happiness is not a crime, enjoying the act of making money is not a crime. I think God created heaven first to show us that He wants us to be happy, not sad or miserable. We OWE it to ourselves and to God, to be everything that we can be, to explore our full potential, to keep expanding the boundaries of our potential. Money will not buy you happiness but it sure helps to bring your dreams come true 🙂

Because these are the affirmations that I give myself regularly with my words and my intentions, I seem to manifest them abundantly in my life. Abundance and Happiness are choices we make and we express them with our words and our intentions.  While I have been learning these lessons for a while, I still have a long way to go and I still need to watch my words and my intentions.

So……. what does your words and your intentions tell you about the choices you are making for yourself?

Posted on December 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love this: “I think God created heaven first to show us that He wants us to be happy, not sad or miserable. We OWE it to ourselves and to God, to be everything that we can be, to explore our full potential, to keep expanding the boundaries of our potential.”

    My intention is always to be as clear and effective with my words and motivations as possible. The motivation comes from my desire to please God and also to honor the angels and friends in my life who support my journey, risks and path and inspire me to grow out of my comfort zone. I love myself the more I honor my integrity, bringing what I say and write and do in the world into harmony so that I never feel like I’m out of step with the Creator or with likeminded friends and loved ones.

    Thanks for helping me think about this and clarify for myself. Love this post.

    Like

    • I love that you are concentrating on your own integrity and being effective with your words. As a former people-pleaser, I still have a hard time sometimes drawing
      boundaries. But practice makes perfect and I guess I just have to keep drawing them. As long as I can live with myself, stand in front of God with a clear concience, I am ok with whatever I need to do to get through the valleys in life. Thank you for commenting 🙂

      Like

  2. You’ve got a good outlook and ‘plan’ for your life and good reasons for doing them. My intention for my life is to enjoy it…be happy in it and to be helpful to others’ needs wherever I can and to be true to my faith in God …..Diane

    Like

    • I do not really have a “plan” for my life. I find that if I concentrate too much on the destinations, I tend to get frustrated with the journey. So my motto right now is to just enjoy the journey, stop to smell the roses and remember that each moment is precious and won’t be repeated again. The last one actually always makes me question whether the things that I am doing are joyful or needed, if either one of this is the answer, then I go ahead and get it done. Otherwise I am practicing saying ‘no’ to other things so I have more time, energy, money etc. to do the kind of things that I want to do. I love that your intention for life includes being helpful to other’s needs wherever you can. That is just so ‘giving’ of yourself. I always say the best gifts are the gifts of time 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to comment Diane! I really appreciate your input!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do And Adieu!

Learning To Live And Love In Japan.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Great Books of the Western World

The unexamined life is not worth living.

