How A Plane Crash Changed One Man’s Life Forever (Ted.com Video)

How A Plane Crash Changed One Man’s Life Forever (Ted.com Video).

This got me thinking a lot. I changed how I live and what I do and the choices that I make on a daily basis after a near death experience this January. I find myself affirming those choices every single day. Somedays I have to work harder at it, somedays its a lot easier.

To paraphrase… what works is this “eliminating negative energy”. What doesn’t make me a better person, or brings out the worst in me, is NOT what I want to have around me anymore. “I no longer choose to be right, I choose to be happy”. Just that statement alone, that realization and working towards this scenerio is enough for me to root out a lot of ‘suppose to’s’… if its not making me happy, I don’t care what I am suppose to do, I am not doing it.

After my son was born and I still had to go back to full time work and life just got too overwhelming at time…. the question that kept me sane is “am I going to remember this 6 hours from now? 6 days or 6 months from now?” If the answer was ‘no’ then I simply resolved not to bother about it. It helped me to cut down on a lot of stress, a lot of unhappiness and focus a lot more on the things that really mattered to me and my life.

As a mom I also started to make a lot of different choices in life… the questions that I then asked myself was “what would I tell my son if he asked me about this?” whatever the ‘this’ was… the answer was what I needed. It got me through graduate school (finally), it got me climbing the corporate ladder (finally), it got me through the end of a 11 year marriage, the extremely painful subsequent divorce with flying colors (not emotionally). What I am trying to say I guess is that while my son is my biggest weakness, he is also my strength. He is the reason of why I hold myself up to a higher standard. If I wouldn’t accept ‘this’ for my son, if it wasn’t good enough for him then it wasn’t good enough for me. He is not going to learn by listening to what I have to say. He is going to learn by watching me do things, regardless of whether I say them or not. He will learn by example and my whole life is an example to him. What am I teaching him with my words, my actions, my choices, the things I put up with and the things I refuse to accept? I like to think that I am laying a positive ground work for him to grow up to … I want him to know that he has to make the choices that are right for him, regardless of what other people, society or even me think about it because end of the day, its his life and he has the right to LIVE it LARGE.

I have also had to live through the death of 3 of my favorite people, up close and personal. What I realized then was that yes, pain can push you to the point where dying is easier than living. But what I also realized is that life is a gift and you never know when it will end, live while you are still alive instead of dying a little death every day.

 

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I LOVE this post! I agree completely. I particularly love this:

    I no longer choose to be right, I choose to be happy”. Just that statement alone, that realization and working towards this scenerio is enough for me to root out a lot of ‘suppose to’s’… if its not making me happy, I don’t care what I am suppose to do, I am not doing it.

    I’m going to reblog this post, as I love how you expressed this thought.

    Like

    • livingvoraciously

      It does help, right? All these unwritten rules and standards that we are forever scrambling to live up to… sometimes I can’t help but question why…. why do we do this? stressing ourselves out, losing sleep, peace of mind over things that others will only find a fault in. I was routing through the wardrobe and I found a T-shirt for my son “If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy” and it just drove home that point all the more.

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on 1Alive and commented:
    I chose to reblog this post because it is exactly how I feel and she expressed it beautifully. Hope you enjoyed it.
    -Tara

    Like

Leave a Reply

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do And Adieu!

Learning To Live And Love In Japan.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Great Books of the Western World

The unexamined life is not worth living.

