I’m not ready for the weekend

Thursday, the last day of the week and I am just having this day of not wanting the week to end, of not wanting the weekend to arrive yet. I am just not ready for the weekend (gasp!) There’s much to do now and not so much time to do it in and (wail) I can’t go to work on the weekend and work if I want to like before. Neither do I have a laptop to carry my work around in and work on whenever I start to stress about something that hasn’t been done yet.

I love the timing in my new office, starting off at 8 am is just perfect for me. I can get a lot more done in the quiet hours of the morning before the rest of the offices wake up to their day. Most times even though office ends at 4.30 pm, I do still stick around trying to clear my emails and my desk of pending work in preparation for the next day. However, as I discovered, leaving at 6.45 or 7.00 pm is like leaving an empty haunted building. It is just too quiet for me – me – since I am used to having people around in the office even if it was 3.00 am in the morning.

Anyhow, so this week has basically just flown by and I don’t know where the days went. It’s been hectic with 2 days of being out for most of the day (showing my city to the Dutch MP) and then one day went just visiting one really brilliant factory (more on the factory in another post). And then one morning eaten up with meetings and now 2 days of trying to get the paper work done, emails answered and off my queue, accompanying a very special friend to the hospital for tests and consultations. And now here I am, staring at the mango tree outside my window and wondering where my week went. ‘

I love my weekends, I do. I have all these plans for the weekend. I have to go see those horses that I have been talking about for 2 weeks now. I need go see my dog as well (another story there). And I really really want to re-read this book that I just finished last night (Twenties girl) and watch some of the latest movies that have come out. I also need to catch up on my paper-back reading on development aid (Less pretension, more ambition) and other magazines that I have been storing forever it seems. But right now I am sitting here updating my blog and wondering where my week went and how I really don’t want the weekend to arrive just quite yet.

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It’s a long time ago for me but I remember going in early and going home late…just to catch up and hopefully be ready for the next day…..Diane

    Like

    • livingvoraciously

      After this week is over, I am going to use the 4 day weekend to get out of the city, hide out in a beautiful resort in the hills and recharge my spirit. I just can’t wait for this week to end :))

      Like

      • Good and maybe you should resolve even for ..say the summer months that you will not stay late at the office…but instead have a little of the ‘summer days’ to enjoy after working the ‘regular hours’…Diane

        Like

Leave a Reply

Inner Whispers

Messages from Within

Triangle Below Canal Street

Don't Sleep On This

House of Uncommons

The uncommon perceptions, wisdom, and senses

Life on the road

Travel, Adventure and Roadtrips.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

rennydiokno.com

global group of international organization for poverty & disable development program

Naijacarrot

finishing lives since the era of dinosaurs

Kezia Lubanszky

Writer, Editor, Bridget Jones Enthusiast

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

I Do And Adieu!

Learning To Live And Love In Japan.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Just A Primer

Musings and other thoughts on beauty.

FOOD LAW LATEST

food safety, food law, food frauds, food recalls, food

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Reiki Mark Cross

Peace, happiness and relaxation

My Life

The Daily Adventures of a Single Mom

traces of orange

S M SHAHRUKH

Agro and Farming

A Blog about Agriculture and Farming related NEWS, Reviews, Technologies, Products, Crops, Tips, Thoughts, Stories and lots . . .

ValerieTarico.com

AwayPoint: Between An Island of Certainties and the Unknown Shore

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Casey Fiesler

#academia #internet #law #feminism #geek

leylashah2014

just another boy who wants to be a girl

The Accidental Mathematician

Because "exact science is not always exact science."

YIN NEW ZEALAND

A place for lovers of Yin and Yang to unite

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

LGBTI Bangladesh

The mouthpiece of the Sexual Minorities in Bangladesh

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

সাদাসিধে কথা আর্কাইভ

মুহম্মদ জাফর ইকবাল এর কলামগুলোর সংগ্রহ

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Single Mom Spot

Strength in the Singular

Where is Shyamni?

Being Sharon; finding Shyamni...

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

The Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies

Online Programs in the Humanities and the Social Sciences at UNCG

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

The Only Way Is Dhaka!

Daily blog of an Englishwoman (married to a Bangladeshi) living in Dhaka, Bangladesh....

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Great Books of the Western World

The unexamined life is not worth living.

